top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanae

Saint-Malo - crepes by the sea

Updated: Feb 2, 2018



Our tour bus had just dropped us off outside the walls of Saint-Malo and our tour guide was about to explain to us how to navigate the place and when and where to meet her again for our departure. Suddenly, however, the attention of our group had shifted elsewhere. "What's happening? Where did everyone go?" she asked in despair. I went to investigate; a few meters away, two guys in red shirts and caps had opened a little portable fridge and were giving away small Coca-Cola cans. Naturally, the entire group had gathered around them, trying to acquire their own little Coca-Cola. Our tour guide approached them and tried to get their attention, but it wasn't as easy as she'd hoped. Eventually, she gave up, got a Coca-Cola herself, and sat down at a bench. About fifteen minutes later, we all had our own cans and we could finally return our attention to her; the poor woman explained to us when and where to meet her again and let us go, relieved to have some alone time at last.


Saint-Malo is a historic walled port city in Brittany, on the French side of the English Channel, notorious in the past as the home of corsairs and pirates. I'd never seen any place like it before; it was truly enchanting. Walking through the cobbled streets of Saint-Malo’s old town felt like I had stepped back in time. But my favorite place was the beach opposite the little island of the Fort National (pictured). At low tide, a sandy path arises and leads explorers onto the island. On that beautiful sunny day, the beach was full of families building sand castles and youngsters having picnics.


We sat at one of the tables set up by the local canteen and got ourselves a few crepes. I’ve had crepes several times in my life before but none of them beats French crepes! I got one named “the corsair’s crepe”, filled with salted caramel - did you know Brittany is famous for its caramel industry? After eating my delicious crepe, I laid back and relaxed a little under the sun as a breeze of the Atlantic ruffled my hair.


(photo by my mom ^_^)


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page